Honoraries and Associates

MSSI benefits from the knowledge, influence and skills of our Honorary Fellows and Associates



The MSSI Associates Program recognises the achievements of innovative champions of sustainability from external groups or organisations outside the University of Melbourne.

  • Guy Abrahams, CEO and Co-Founder, of CLIMARTE: Arts for a Safe Climate.
  • Professor Kate Auty, Commissioner, for Sustainability and Environment, Australian Capital Territory Government.
  • Grant Blashki, Associate Professor, at the Nossal Institute for Global Health, University of Melbourne.
  • Kathryn Bowen, Social Epidemiologist, working at the nexus of climate change and global environmental issues.
  • Joyati Das, Senior international development professional, and human rights advocate for equity and justice.
  • Graeme Davison AO, Emeritus Sir John Monash Distinguished Professor, at Monash University.
  • Ian Dunlop, Governance and Sustainability Advisor, on climate change, energy and corporate governance.
  • Fergus Green, Climate policy consultant and researcher, London School of Economics and Political Science.
  • Tanya Ha, Environmentalist, broadcaster, writer and science and sustainability engagement specialist.
  • Dr Steven Henderson, Geographer, with research interests in urban and regional development, governance and sustainability.
  • David Holmgren, Australian environmental designer, ecological educator, writer and co-originator of the permaculture concept..
  • Carolyn Ingvarson, Convenor of Lighter Footprints, a community climate change action group.
  • Dr Cathy Oke, Sustainability Knowledge Broker and Consultant, Councillor at the City of Melbourne.
  • Kelly O’Shanassy, CEO, of the Australian Conservation Foundation.
  • Assoc. Professor Lauren Rickards, Associate Professor, in the School of Global, Urban and Social Studies, RMIT University.
  • The Hon. Tom Roper, Former Australian Politician and Climate Change and Environmental Policy Advisor.
  • Anna Rose, Australian author, speaker and environmentalist.
  • Meredith Sussex AM, Chair of the Fishermans Bend Ministerial Advisory Committee and Lecturer in Urban Governance.
  • Helen Sykes, Founder of Future Leaders and President of the Trust for Young Australians.