mssi logo


MSSI benefits from the interest and involvement of leading academics, senior bureaucrats, and innovative business people. We formally recognise a small number of these people who are striving for a more sustainable society as our Associates.


Kate Auty

Commissioner for Sustainability and Environment, Australian Capital Territory Government.

Guy Abrahams

Guy Abrahams is CEO and Co-Founder of CLIMARTE: Arts for a Safe Climate and instigator of ART+CLIMATE=CHANGE 2015

Grant Blashki

Grant Blashki is an Associate Professor at the Nossal Institute for Global Health, University of Melbourne, and Honorary Professor at Shenzhen Luohu Hospital Group in China.

Kathryn Bowen

Social Epidemiologist working at the nexus of climate change and global environmental issues.

Joyati Das

Senior international development professional, thought leader and advocate on human rights with specialisation in child rights and urban poverty issues.

Graeme Davison AO

Emeritus Sir John Monash Distinguished Professor at Monash University interested in the uses of history for public policy.

Ian Dunlop

Governance and Sustainability Advisor, with a a particular interest in the interaction of corporate governance, corporate responsibility and sustainability. 

Fergus Green

Climate policy consultant and researcher.

Tanya Ha

Environmentalist, broadcaster, writer and science and sustainability engagement specialist.

Steven Henderson

Associate with research interests in urban and regional development, governance and sustainability.

Carolyn Ingvarson

Climate change community activist and convenor of a community climate change action group, Lighter Footprints.

Cathy Oke

Sustainability Knowledge Broker and Consultant, Councillor at the City of Melbourne.

Kelly O'Shanassy

CEO of the Australian Conservation Foundation.  She is a sustainability leader who has valuable experience in executive roles in business, government and the community sector.

Lauren Rickards

Expert in critical human geography and Senior Lecturer at RMIT University.

Tom Roper

Climate Change and Environmental Policy Advisor.

Anna Rose

Innovation Fellow, The Myer Foundation.

Meredith Sussex AM

Chair of the Fishermans Bend Ministerial Advisory Committee and Lecturer in Urban Governance.

Helen Sykes AM

Helen Sykes is the founder of Future Leaders and President of the Trust for Young Australians.


Patrick Troy AO

Adjunct Professor who has made an outstanding contribution to urban policy research.